27251846

Romeo knows the rules. Stick with your own kind. Don’t dob on your mates, or even your enemies. But even unwritten rules are made for breaking. Fight Clubs, first loves and family ties are pushed to their limit in Helen Chebatte’s explosive debut novel.

I discovered this book through my local library’s eBook collection. The main character, Romeo, gets into a fight with another boy at school over a girl. Then he is attacked by the boy and his friends after school one day, and then a final fight is organised between the two. But things get out of control, and end in tragedy.

I really felt for Romeo when reading this book. I found that I could easily empathise with him – I have a similar character to Romeo, in that I really don’t like fighting or conflict, and try and avoid it as much as possible. Unfortunately, Romeo makes a bad decision, to fight another boy, which lead to the tragic consequences. Something that a lot of teenagers may consider, or get involved in.

Helen has written a fantastic debut novel about what many teens may face in high school. Her writing style allows you to be drawn into the story, and brings out powerful feelings and emotions. It wasn’t a book that I could devour in one sitting, but it will stick with me for a long time.

Leave a Reply

